Insight


Wisdom Mudra

The morning sun was shining gently on English Bay in Vancouver, British Columbia. My heart was filled with warmth and gratitude while I practiced my daily walking meditation. I am the sun, I am the singing birds, I am the ocean, I am the woods, I am the mountains — yes, I am the Universe, and the Universe is me. This awareness first awakened in me at a Yoga Teachers Training Retreat in India in 2010, and from that moment on I’ve never looked back, moving ever forward on the transformational path of Buddhist thought.

In present day, Buddhism is often taught in two forms: religious Buddhism and philosophical Buddhism. The Buddha’s teachings are followed by many people who do not consider themselves religious, and who are not necessarily trained as priests. The Buddhist principles for living a healthy and happy life are practical and applicable to every detail of daily existence. These principles include basic knowledge of meditation and spirituality to provide guidance and support to anyone interested in walking a conscious path.

The essential nature of life is compassion, which can be cultivated and disseminated by every single living being in his or her life. People who cultivate compassion have been known to have been awakened, moved and transformed. As a student of mine said, “I am not the kind of person who believes things easily or because others do. I have to see things and experience them myself. Now, I’ve done just that, and I’m absolutely convinced.”

Seeing and reading, while valuable, is like counting the treasure of another. Come to experience your own essential being, and become the treasure.



早晨明媚的阳光轻轻照在不列颠哥伦比亚省温哥华英国海湾,我的心充满了温暖和感激,练习着每天的行禅。我是阳光,我是鸟鸣,我是海洋,我的森林,我是山- 是的,我是宇宙,宇宙就是我。这种意识第一次唤醒了我是2010年在印度的一个瑜伽教师训练营,由那一刻起,我从来没有回头,并且在佛教思想的道路上不断 转化和前进。

今天,佛法是经常通过宗教和哲学两种形式流传的。许多无宗教人士和僧团外的俗家子弟都遵行佛陀的教诲。佛教实用的原则,使人能过着健康和快乐的生活。这些原则适用于日常生活的每一个环节,它包括禅(或说是冥想)和灵性的基本知识,为任何有意修行的人提供指导和支持。

生命的本质是慈悲。人人都可一在自己生活中培养和推展慈悲。许多培养慈悲的人的生命就曾被唤醒、感动和转化。像我的一位学生说,“我不是那种谁都相信的人,或是人信我信的人。我要亲自看到和亲身经历才会相信。现在,我已看到了,也亲身经历过,所以我绝对相信。”

旁观和阅读虽然很有价值,但总是像数着人家的财富一样。为何不亲自前来体验一下自己存在的本质,让财富成为自己的。

Leave a Reply

