53-Day Circumscribed Recitation of the Avatamasaka Sutra


Commence a 53-day circumscribed recitation of the Avatamsaka Sutra as your dedicated practice to pray for [SAY YOUR WISH HERE, for example, the success of the 2011 Huayen Sangha-Dana, the 8th WBSY General Conference, and the Second Huayen Global Forum]. Please follow the guidelines below to complete the practice.

I. SOLEMN PLEDGE
Compassionate and Great Buddha, for the purpose of perfecting Buddhahood and delivering all living beings and for [the success of the 2011 Huayen Sangha-Dana, the 8th WBSY General Conference, and the Second Huayen Global Forum], I [YOUR NAME], DO HEREBY SOLEMNLY PLEDGE to engage in a 53-day circumscribed practice from [DATE] to [DATE], during which period I will recite one consecutive chapter of the 80-fascicle Avatamsaka Sutra each day. I earnestly pray to all Buddhas of the ten directions for protection, to the Bodhisattvas of the past, present, and future for acceptance, and to our patriarchs for blessings. (One prostration) 

II. REPENTANCE
I [YOUR NAME], from eons without beginning in the past, have created all kinds of measureless and boundless evil karma with my body, speech, and mind because of greed, hatred, and delusion. If that karma had substance and form, all of space could not contain it. I now completely purify these three karmas, and before the assemblies of all Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, throughout the Dharma Realm in lands as many as fine motes of dusts, I sincerely repent and reform my offences and vow never to create them again. I will always dwell in all merits and virtues of the pure precepts until I perfect Buddhahood. My repentance and reform will only end when all living beings are delivered in thought after thought without cease, my three karmas never weary of such deeds. (One prostration)

III. AVATAMSAKA SUTRA RECITATION
Namo Upadhyaya Sakyamuni Buddha (Three invocations, three prostrations.) [Contemplate gradually its meaning as you recite the following stanza.]

The unsurpassed, profound, and wonderful Dharma
Is difficult to encounter in hundreds of millions of eons.
I now see and hear it, receive and uphold it,
And I vow to fathom the Tathagata’s true meaning.

[Contemplation vow: As you open the Avatamsaka Sutra, contemplate the Dharma Wheel always turns, that all living beings who hear the Dharma shall attain Bodhi.]
RECITE ONE CHAPTER OF THE AVATAMSAKA SUTRA AS YOUR DAILY CIRCUMSCRIBE PRACTICE.

IV. DEDICATION OF MERIT

May the merit and virtue accrued from this act help all gods, devas, dragons and Dharma protectors attain Buddhahood expediently.
May all great good and wise advisors who preach the Huayen tradition and spread its teachings long remain in the world to turn the Great Dharma Wheel.
May all beings in the Dharma Realm generate supreme Bodhi-mind and attain the Essence of Reality.
May the Huayen Dharma prosper and flourish, and may the Right Buddha-dharma long remain in the world.
May peace be on earth, may there be social harmony, may the winds be gentle and the rain be mild, and may all countries prosper and their people peaceful.
May there be success in [SAY YOUR WISH HERE: For example, the 2011 Huayen Sangha-Dana, the 8th WBSY General Conference, and the Second Huayen Global Forum].

I dedicate the merit and virtue from this profound act of Universal Worthy,
With all its boundless superior blessings,
Making the universal vow that all beings sunk in defilement,
Will quickly go to the Land of the Buddha of Limitless Light (Amitabha).
Homage to all Buddhas of the ten directions and the three periods of time,
All Bodhisattvas, Mahasattvas, and
Maha Prajna Paramita!
Homage to the King Bodhisattva Mahasattva of Universal Worthy! (Three invocations, three prostrations)

Written by Ven. Sakya Longyen
Huayen on Indra’s Net

One thought on “53-Day Circumscribed Recitation of the Avatamasaka Sutra

  1. “Meditation of Loving-kindness”
    I am always reminded

    “Buddha compassion meditation”

    “Meditation of Loving-kindness”

    Let myself be always happy and kind.
    Let myself be free from disease and mental worries.
    Let myself be always successful in righteous and reasonable endeavors.
    Let the wisdom of light shine upon myself.
    Let myself be always happy and kind.(3 times)

    Let my intimates be always happy and kind.
    Let my intimates be free from disease and mental worries.
    Let my intimates be always successful in righteous and reasonable endeavors.
    Let the wisdom of light shine upon my intimates.
    Let my intimates be always happy and kind.(3times)

    Let all living being be always happy and kind.
    Let all living being be free from disease and mental worries.
    Let all living being be always successful in righteous and reasonable endeavors.
    Let the wisdom of light shine upon all living beings.
    Let all living being be always happy and kind.(3times)

    Let all living being irritable to me be always happy and kind.
    Let all living being irritable to me be free from disease and mental worries.
    Let all living being irritable to me be always successful in righteous and reasonable endeavors.
    Let the wisdom of light shine upon all living being irritable to me.
    Let all living being irritable to me be always happy and kind.(3times)

    Let all living being not happy with me be always happy and kind.
    Let all living being not happy with me be free from disease and mental worries.
    Let all living being not happy with me be always successful in righteous and reasonable endeavors.
    Let the wisdom of light shine upon all living being not happy with me.
    Let all living being not happy with me be always happy and kind.(3times)

    Let all living being be always happy and kind.
    Let all living being be always happy and kind.
    Let all living being be always happy and kind.

    ” 慈悲の瞑想”
    私は幸せでありますように
    私の悩み苦しみがなくなりますように
    私の願いごとが叶えられますように
    私に悟りの光が現れますように
    私は幸せでありますように(3回)

    私の親しい人々が幸せでありますように
    私の親しい人々の悩み苦しみがなくなりますように
    私の親しい人々の願いごとが叶えられますように
    私の親しい人々にも悟りの光が現れますように
    私の親しい人々が幸せでありますように(3回)

    生きとし生けるものが幸せでありますように
    生きとし生けるものの悩み苦しみがなくなりますように
    生きとし生けるものの願いごとが叶えられますように
    生きとし生けるものにも悟りの光が現れますように
    生きとし生けるものが幸せでありますように(3回)

Leave a Reply

